The Chair of Woodwind Instruments

The Chair started its activities in 2019 on the initiative of the research and didactic staff teaching woodwind instruments such as flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and saxophone. Its first head was saxophonist Rafał Rachwał, PhD. Currently the Chair is headed by flutist Ewa Murawska, PhD, DSc, ProfTit.

The present-day image of the Chair is the result of work of several generations of eminent musicians associated with the Poznań music community. Since 1958 the directions of the Chair’s development have been set by successive heads: clarinetist Professor Józef Madeja, flutist Associate Professor Franciszek Langner, oboist Professor Mieczysław Koczorowski, clarinetist Professor Zdzisław Nowak, and trumpeter Professor Roman Gryń.


The Chair of Woodwind Instruments can pride itself in organizing many periodic artistic and scientific projects, which are recognized both nationally and internationally. The most significant festivals include: “Colors of Wind Instruments”, “Bassoonist’s Lab”, “Poznań SaxEvent”, “Poznań Clarinet Spring”, and the Eugeniusz Towarnicki International Flute Competition. Moreover, the Chair actively participates in the European Union educational mobility program Erasmus+ and acquires financial grants for cultural and scientific activities from Norwegian Funds.

Every year the Chair organizes many masterclasses, inviting the most outstanding musicians from all over the world. In recent years the following artists have presented their artistry: flutists – Patrick Gallois, Raphael Leone; oboists – Christoph Hartmann, Marino Bedetti; clarinetists – Florent Heau, Julian Bliss; bassoonists – Jarosław Augustyniak, Sebastian Stevensson; saxophonists – Vincent David, Sergey Kolesov.


Members of the Chair of Woodwind Instruments:


Ewa Murawska, PhD, DSc, ProfTit

Ewa Mizerska, PhD

Andrzej Łęgowski, PhD, DSc, ProfTit  (collaborator)



Tomasz Gubański, PhD, DSc, ProfTit

Łukasz Krzemiński, PhD



Paweł Drobnik, PhD, DSc, ProfTit

Jakub Drygas, PhD

Paweł Kroczek, PhD



Arkadiusz Adamczyk, PhD, DSc

Krzysztof Zabłocki, MA

Kristian Oma Rønnes, MA



Magdalena Jakubska-Szymiec, PhD, DSc

Rafał Rachwał, PhD



Joanna Balewska, PhD, DSc

Hanna Lizinkiewicz, PhD

Maria Rutkowska, PhD

Renata Pabich, MA

Mateusz Kowalski, MA

Agnieszka Karpińska, MA

Yang Xu-Czaja, MA





prof. dr hab. Paweł Drobnik
dr Jakub Drygas
dr Paweł Kroczek


dr hab. Arkadiusz Adamczyk
mgr Krzysztof Zabłocki
mgr Kristian Oma Rønnes


dr hab. Magdalena Jakubska-Szymiec
dr Rafał Rachwał


dr hab. Joanna Balewska
dr Hanna Lizinkiewicz
dr Maria Rutkowska
mgr Renata Pabich
mgr Mateusz Kowalski
mgr Agnieszka Karpińska
mgr Yang Xu-Czaja

Skip to content