The Chair of Brass Instruments

The Chair of Brass Instruments continues the tradition of the Chair of Wind Instruments established in 1958. The first head of the Chair of Brass Instruments in the years 2019-2020 was Roman Gryń, PhD, DSc, ProfTit; currently this position is held by Prof. Maciej Łakomy, Ph.D.

Teachers associated in the Chair are orchestral musicians, chamber musicians and soloists. They are graduates of Polish and foreign music academies and winners of numerous national and international competitions. They sit as jurors at competitions in Poland and abroad. An important element of the Chair’s activity are international scientific conferences organized by the unit. They include master classes in brass playing led by distinguished teachers from academic centers around the world. The conferences also include concerts, lectures, and exhibitions of musical instruments. Recurring events include the International Conference “The Colors of Brass Instruments”, “Thromboholism” – Poznań Trombone Music Festival, and the International Conference for Trumpeters “The Trumpet Shall Sound”.

As part of its artistic and scientific events, the Chair has hosted such distinguished pedagogues, soloists, chamber and orchestral musicians as Marco Pierobon, Andrea Tofanelli, Eric Aubier, Markus Wursch, Giuliano Sommerhalder, Teunis van der Zwart, Edward Deskur, Lisa Ford, Thomas Leyendecker, György Gyivicsan, Ricardo Molla, Karl Hinterbichler, Zdzisław Stolarczyk, Grzegorz Nagórski, Tomasz Hajda, Karol Gajda, Jacek Namysłowski, and Jonas Bylund.


Members of the Chair:


Roman Gryń, PhD, DSc, ProfTit

Damian Kurek, PhD

Marek Galubiński, MA


French horn

Krzysztof Stencel, PhD

Igor Szeligowski, MA



prof. Maciej Łakomy, PhD – head

dr Wojciech Jeliński


tuba, euphonium

Mateusz Kurek, MA


Pianists collaborating with the Chair:

Maria Rutkowska, PhD

Tomasz Sośniak, PhD

Natalia Domańska, MA

Barbara Habdas-Piwowar, MA

Mateusz Kowalski, MA

Renata Pabich, MA

Skip to content